
Google Drive deletes your recycling bin
Google announced a major change to how they handle Google Drive today. The platform will automatically delete files not accessed in the last 30 days with no feedback to the user.
There is an explenation on this feature, on how old files remain in the Google Drive Recycle Bin. Firstly for privacy reasons and secondly for convenience as files you once delete can still find in your “Never-Delete” folder. This is an archive folder on the Google Drive. But as of October 13th, Google has changed this feature. 30 days after moving an item to the Recycle Bin Google will automatically delete it. Google explained its new change over the G Suite on this date in a post. All files emptied from the old system will remain there for a few more days. The system will then remove them at their usual time.”
Increasing functionality
Google Drive is a very popular online productivity service. As part of a plan to comply with recent changes from Google, the increased functionality is available now. All G Suite users will be able make best use of Drive while still retaining the benefits they’ve come to enjoy. Many users have misinterpreted this to mean that items deleted from Google Drive will still be saved in their recycle bin. This is an incorrect interpretation; however, the Google Vault retention policy has not changed at all.
We don’t need to do anything, Google says. This policy change will take effect automatically. However, if your account has been suspended for two years or more, this change may not happen until December. You’ll know the process will be activated in your Drive account when, “Google displays a banner to users with details of the change, and notifications in the Drive app starting today (e.g., Google Docs and Google Forms) starting September 29.”
If you enjoyed this article, then you may also like this one.
Author: PC-GR
The World of Technology
